Schengen Agreement Countries List

The European Union forms a customs union and a VAT area. However, not all Schengen States or the entire territory of the Schengen States are part of the customs union or the VAT area. Some countries therefore legally carry out customs controls on illicit goods such as drugs. Independent countries such as Vatican City, Monaco and San Marino are de facto considered part of the Schengen area. In addition to these countries, the Schengen area also includes the Caribbean islands, which belong to France, and the three European micro-states of Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City. These territories and micronations maintain open or semi-open borders for visitors. Of this list, four Schengen countries – Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Iceland and Norway – are not members of the European Union. They are therefore officially known to be the countries associated with the EU`s Schengen activities. This means that these countries are obliged to accept EU decisions, even if they are not part of it. Two of these non-member countries, Norway and Iceland, are members of the Nordic Passport Union.

Denmark ranked 10th in the top 10 countries that obtained a Schengen visa, with 7% of its 164,003 visa applications rejected. There are more than 5.5 million people who call Denmark their home, and with an area of 43,094 km², there are certainly plenty of attractions that will occupy you. Silkeborg is surrounded by beautiful forests and lakes that are perfect for exploring. There are more than a few beautiful cities like Copenhagen, Aarhus and Ribe, where you can shop until the end, go on night excursions or visit tourist attractions like the AROS Museum or the Wadden Sea National Park. The Schengen countries that have not registered with the EU are Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Vatican City has an open border with Italy. In 2006, it expressed interest in joining the Schengen Agreement for closer cooperation on the exchange of information and similar activities under the Schengen Information System. [110] Exceptionally, Italy allowed people to visit Vatican City without being accepted for an Italian visa, and then to be escorted by police between the airport and the Vatican or to use a helicopter. [Citation required] However, there is no customs union (or customs duties) between Italy and the Vatican, which is why all vehicles are checked at the borders of Vaticano.

The „Schengen area“ consists of a group of European countries that have no restrictions for tourists traveling on their territory. . . .